add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

Austin Design and Visual Arts Network Message Board › February Meetup Epilogue

February Meetup Epilogue

A former member
Post #: 16
Great meetup. We had eight people of the eighteen RSVP's who showed up. Conversations ran long tonight and we didn't break until around 9:30. I actually have a sore throat from talking too much.

Here are some of the links that came up:

Site Grinder
This tool converts PSDs into working websites. As a web developer I'm very skeptical but I am interested in finding out more about it. Given the right circumstances, it might be a useful tool.

Lightbox JS v2.0
Web designers and developers everywhere love Lightbox. It's cross-browser Javascript/CSS that lets you create fantastic photo galleries. Check it out and you'll see what I mean. The best part: your Javascript and CSS are completely separated from the content, allowing you to use valid, well-formed, clean XHTML markup. (Can you tell I'm a fan?)

Flash portfolio websites for photographers.

Host your photographs with this one. (See also: Flickr, DeviantArt)

Revision3 - Pixel Perfect
Online video tutorials for Photoshop. Cool stuff! They also have other podcast series available from the left-hand column.

Edit: I went back and added a brief description for each link.
A former member
Post #: 8
Yes it was another good time, its great to shoot the shit with fellow designers. Here are a few liks that were mentioned.

--Simple Viewer - Free customizable Flash image viewing application
Airtight Interactive

Lightbox (as mentioned by Chat Clussman above) is also a great free Image Viewer. (javascript)