add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

Arkansas Society of Freethinkers Message Board Parenting › Parenting in the bible belt

Parenting in the bible belt

A former member
Post #: 20
Hi ladies! We are new to the group, but I wanted to put a reply to the post. I am a teacher and although we aren't military we have moved like we are. I am both a teacher and a mom. After living out east for a while I kind of developed the attitude that my beliefs are my own and I don't share them with others. With all of the different faiths we have I'm this country, I teach my children that not e everyone believes the same thing. Even at school I try to tell the students that there are 3 things you should never talk about in polite company. Politics, money, and religion. I do this nor because i am embarrassed but because I think that all of us could take a lesson from the previous generations and remember that just because we have an opinion doesn't mean we have to express it all the time. I tell my 7 year old and my students that church/religion and who you vote for are things we talk about at home and not with people at school or work. So when situations come up Logan usually says "we don't talk about that with friends."

As a parent I want my children to learn tolerance. So I model that for them. Just as I wouldn't want the Mormons reading to him out of their religious text, I don't talk to baptists about reincarnation or Darwin. We all could change so much if we could be more tolerant of each other. So thebest answer is "we don't talk a out that in public."
A former member
Post #: 9