Kat C.

Location:

Valencia, CA

Member since:

November 2, 2011

Networks

How large is your family?

It's me, my husband, and my little boy (5 years old). I also have a little girl on the way, and a 13-year-old step son who doesn't live with us.

What label do you use to describe your beliefs?

I'm a secular humanist. I believe more than anything in the inherent potential for goodness and morality in mankind without the promise of reward or the threat of punishment. I also believe that a family doesn't need god to be happy, connected, and raise wonderful kids. When asked what I believe in, I often answer, "Science and People" just to make things simple. I don't like to wear my atheism on my sleeve just because I never know who will read into that and think I'm a bad parent, or an immoral person... But if asked directly whether I believe in god, the answer is always, "no."

What do you love to do as a family?

We love to go to museums (especially the Science Center and Natural History Museum at USC), take walks around Santa Clarita (when the weather is nice), and generally enjoy each others' company. A lot of our family time is spent just having conversations, as my little boy is insanely curious about the world around him and how it works. We like to go to book stores and browse, go to different nature preserves in the area and "check stuff out," (as my son calls it), and ride bikes (though my husband's was recently stolen -- grrr).

Are you interested in helping organize events?

I'm interested in doing as much as my time allows... I'd love to really get involved, but I have a full time job that limits the amount of time I can spend physically going places and doing things. I do, however, spend a lot of my time at work on the internet (when we're slow), so research and planning is usually pretty easy for me to accomplish. I also have most weekends free (besides soccer games), and not many commitments besides my work and family.

Introduction

Hi! I'm Kat -- a working mom living in Valencia, CA. I have a 5 year old son, and am pregnant (due in March) with a little girl. I'd love to meet other families with kids to discuss raising freethinkers!

What Kat C. is saying about this Meetup Group

Fantastic. Rachel really does a wonderful job putting the events together and we always have a great time.


Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy