Arizona Steampunk Society Message Board › Hello all! Does anyone have any ideas...

Hello all! Does anyone have any ideas...

A former member
Post #: 2
Hi all, I'm Ian. I'm new to the scene and somewhat new to the genre. I've been into steampunk without actually knowing it for a while. Now getting into the fashion and writing. I'm working on some fiction of my own, but does anyone have any ideas for books to read. I've dug into Cherie Priest's Boneshaker and the anthology Steampunk . I look forward to getting involved and meeting some of you.
cowboisgirl
user 8685194
Tucson, AZ
Post #: 7
Have you read the "His Dark Materials" series by Phillip Pullman? The books are way better than the movie they made of the first on (Golden Compass).

I'm also interested in hearing others' suggestions....
Michael B.
user 14648126
Phoenix, AZ
Post #: 37
I can't help but recommend my own steampunk novel - The Travelers' Club and the Ghost Ship, the best steampunk novel ever, available NOW on Kindle, lol.

For others, you would want to read the Michael Moorcock Call of Cthulhu series that started the Steampunk genre again in the 1970s and 1980s.

Also, there are two Steampunk Anthologies out, and you can read the HG Wells and Jules Verne novels for free on Kindle. 20,000 leagues under the sea, the mysterious island, the island of dr. moreau, the invisible man, even Sherlock Holmes pieces from Arthur Conan Doyle.

For movies, check out League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Cowboys and Aliens, Wild Wild West, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Around the World in 80 days, and the new Sherlock Holmes with Jude Law and Robert Downey Junior.

Michael Bradley
Kari H.
user 5641679
Glendale, AZ
Post #: 5
I'm actually in the same boat as you. I've been into Steampunk without realizing I was.