The Anchorage Adventurers Meetup Group Message Board › beginers list of supplies for a single overnight backpack

beginers list of supplies for a single overnight backpack

A former member
Post #: 1
I am new to hiking and back packing and I would like to know if you have a list of stuff that is the bare minimum a person should have to go on a over night back pack trip. I have a pretty good idea of the minimums I am thinking: sleeping bag,
tent
sleeping pad
water or water filtration system
food (light weight preferable- several snack things for while on the trail)
camping stove of some sort
dining kit of some sort
first aid kit
flash light
swiss army knife?

perhaps a gun or some bear encounter device?

My assumption would be that as I get more into hiking and backpacking my list will grow/change...

any advice is appreciated.
Greg P.
user 13376216
Anchorage, AK
Post #: 454
We don't allow guns at our events, but bear spray is strongly encouraged.
A former member
Post #: 2
thats good to know (I don't have a gun) LOL I just got that from a list off the internet... :)
maureen
user 4292948
Anchorage, AK
Post #: 128
Hi Rebecca!
It's so awesome that you have such enthusiasm for the outdoors! I noticed you're new to Ak and wondered if you've done much car camping to start. We have some great camping events coming up pretty much every weekend and most of those offer dayhikes too. Our Hope weekend in early August would be perfect for kids, the Pink fishing in Hope is non-stop action for the little ones and it's actually where many Alaskan kids learn to fish. ..plus we'll have easy and difficult hikes. This way you could ease into camping.