add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

The Atlanta Atheists Meetup Group Message Board › Assault weapons ban - what is the rationalists view of this?

Assault weapons ban - what is the rationalists view of this?

Christy B.
user 24364922
Conyers, GA
Post #: 17
As a physician, I agree with Joel here. A gun in the household is more likely to kill a family member, spouse or children than a home invader or robber. A waiting period will not deter criminals but may deter suicides since these acts are usually impulsive ( especially with guns). We will know more about factors contributing to gun violence now that the "gag" order has been lifted from the CDC ( in terms of freeing up funding).

However, this is about assault weapons.

Unfortunately there really only has been 1 good study looking at the effects of banning assault weapons. "The Law Enforcement Act of 1994 mandated a study 30 months after it was enacted. “Impact Evaluation of the Public Safety and Recreational Firearms Use Protection Act of 1994.” That evaluation was updated in 2004 but no more comprehensive study was done." The one big confounding variable was that assault weapons and large-capacity magazines manufactured before 1994 were “grandfathered” in for sale and distribution. Which means, early in the study period, any benefit may have been mitigated by these "grandfathered" assault weapons exchanging hands, and they never did do the followup. I will post the link.