addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Austin Area Beekeepers Association Message Board › How many brood boxes?

How many brood boxes?

Terry S.
user 84341102
Austin, TX
Post #: 5
I’m new to beekeeping and appreciate the help provided on this site. In a recent meeting of the WCABA a comment was made that in Central Texas a single brood box (10 frame deep) held enough honey to survive winter and therefore honey supers could be added on top of a single brood box. All the books I have read indicated two brood boxes would be required. As the population of my new hive is quickly reaching the point where I will need to add another box, guidance would be much appreciated.
Lance W.
user 67471692
Austin, TX
Post #: 45
Hi Terry,

This is a matter of personal preference only. I like a 2 deep brood area configuration since it allows for more room for the queen to lay which should translate to a larger adult population. Secondly, it allows me to reverse deeps in the spring when the brood sphere has moved up reducing the risk of swarming. However.....it is more difficult to find the queen and is more expensive so really it just depends on your style of beekeeping.
Terry S.
user 84341102
Austin, TX
Post #: 6
Thanks Lance,
This is the feedback I was looking for smile
William C.
user 13312724
Austin, TX
Post #: 68