Austin Geeks and Gamers Message Board › Organizing a LAN party?

Organizing a LAN party?

Johann
JohannTX
Group Organizer
Austin, TX
Post #: 68
Howdy my fellow geeks!

One of the ideas that has been requested, and that we still haven't attempted as a meetup, is a LAN party. Personally, I have to confess that in spite of my past life as a computer game designer, I am still an old school board gamer and never mastered any great LAN games. So, I'd love to hear from any of you who are LAN gamers:

1) What LAN games are you guys most interested in?

2) What locations do you think would work? (FYI - Derrick, the proprietor of Mothership Games, is a member and would probably be glad to host something if we collaborated with him.)

3) Would any of you who are more passionate and knowledgeable about LAN gaming be willing to step up and help organize them? Jodin, for example, volunteered to help organize our light board game events and has been doing an amazing job. I am sure we have one or two more like him among us.

Let me know what y'all think!

Johann
Jessica L.
user 75436902
Austin, TX
Post #: 1
1) I am a console gamer, and could bring an xbox 360; which is backward compatible with Halo: combat evolved. I like FPS style games, especially the original 3 halo games. :)
2) Unsure of locations that would work, but I do have a house with two HDTVs in the SW area, if we couldn't figure anywhere else out.
I'm looking forward to video game events like this! Sounds really fun. :)
Jessica
Jessica L.
user 75436902
Austin, TX
Post #: 2
Oh, also- there's always the Gears of War series, how many of you guys are into that one?

And as for the 3rd question, I'm sure we're all tech savvy, but I could probably assist in setting up the networks for the LAN party.
Jacob
jjhwarrington
Austin, TX
Post #: 2