addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Marina

Location:

San Ramon, CA
Hometown: Odessa, Ukraine

Member since:

May 30, 2014

What attracted you to this group?

I hope I can safely say that my kids are having a commercial-free childhood as this is by far our main concern. I think that spending time outside, with your family, friends, doing sports, seeing new places and learning about not harming our planet are things that will eventually help them become good people.

How are you resisting the commercialization of your kids' childhood?

We don't have cable so we only have family movie time once or twice a week; trying to abstain from gadgets; using local libraries A LOT; spending time outdoors; buying things only when we really need them; respecting the environment by eating organic and local, and only using biodegradable or all natural home cleaning products.

In general, what days of the week/times are you most available to meetup?

Weekends

What kind of activities would you like to participate in?

No answer yet

Introduction

My name is Marina, originally from Odessa, Ukraine, have been in the U.S. for 13 years. Have a 14-y.o. son and 2 daughters who are 11 and 5.


Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy