Leah M.

Location:

Richwood, OH
Hometown: Chesterland, OH

Member since:

November 15, 2012

What is your ideal living situation in regards to self-sufficiency/sustainability?

I would like to live in a situation where I can confidently and comfortably provide for myself using local resources and with minimal reliance on unhealthy and unsustainable practices. This is a wordy way of saying that my dream has always been to have a farm, first and foremost because that's the kind of life and work I love and enjoy, and second because I am dissatisfied with current societal trends which not only divorce people from practical knowledge and basic means of living, but which are in direct opposition to the health and well-being of people and the earth.

What are your main areas of interest?

Gardening, responsible foraging, natural/herbal medicine, food preservation and preparation, small livestock, developing local community, home arts & crafts.

What, if any, are your areas of expertise that you could help others learn?

I don't yet consider myself an expert on anything, but I am willing to share my interests and passions with others as we learn together.

What is your main reason for joining this group?

I would like to meet and network with others in the area who have similar interests.

Introduction

I’m an anachronistic homebody, former unschooler, part-time library assistant, folk musician, dancer, bibliophile, and foodie. I'm originally from NE Ohio but now live with my boyfriend Matt (the organizer) on our "farm" NW of Columbus.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy