align-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcamerachatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-crosscrosseditfacebookglobegoogleimagesinstagramlocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartwitteryahoo

Christina R.

Location:

Colorado Springs, CO

Member since:

August 5, 2012

Please take a moment to comment on your experience level with urban homesteading, and your areas of interest. Thank you!

I have more experience in urban homesteading than the average city dweller, but far less than I want! I preserve food by dehydrating, freezing, water canning, and lacto-fermenting. I have chickens. I have a garden. I eat mostly local and/or homemade food. I greatly enjoy my kombucha and water kefir and coconut milk kefir. I love knitting and needle felting. When I am difficult to get ahold of, I'm often in a tipi or doing something outside with my kids, praying to the spirits, or deep in kitchen workings. I would love to learn about animal husbandry, beekeeping, permaculture, easy sewing projects, weaving and spinning, pressure canning, saving money while eating fabulously, other or new ways to live closer to the land, and many other things. I am also embarking on an understanding of herbalism via a full course from Rosemary Gladstar. I can already make herbal oils and salves and teas. I love it!

What is your ZIP code?

No answer yet

Introduction

I'm an urban homesteader in Old Colorado City with three kids, chickens, a garden, and a full kitchen! My husband is an environmental educator and I love nourishing food. I love knitting and being outdoors.


Our Sponsors

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy