August Vegan Book Club | My Year of Meats

A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love—the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. 

Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

FIND THE BOOK

1. Direct from Amazon:  Paperback and Kindle.

2. Pikes Peak Library System (one copy in circulation).

Thanks to our friends at Nourish Organic Juice for hosting our Vegan Book Club! Arrive early to grab a healthy, nourishing, vegan meal before the book discussion begins! 

Do you have a title suggestion for the Vegan Book Club? Let us know here:  http://www.meetup.com/ColoradoSpringsVeg/messages/boards/thread/46042722


Join or login to comment.

  • JL F.

    Whoa! This book was GOOD! I hope everyone else is enjoying it! (It's a quick read - or let's say an absorbing read: I read half of it on my flight to NY and finished on my flight back to CO!)

    1 · August 11

    • Alison M.

      It's really, really good and a super quick read! I'm already over halfway through the book and I just started reading it this past weekend! I'm sure I'll finish it within the week. Thanks for the recommendation, Liz! Can't wait to discuss it with everyone!

      August 14

  • Liz C.

    That date is open house night at my school, so I won't be able to make it :( Enjoy! It's a great book.

    1 · August 1

    • JL F.

      That figures! Bummed to miss you (but thanks for the book suggestion!)

      August 1

3 went

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sometimes the best Meetup Group is the one you start

Get started Learn more
Rafaël

We just grab a coffee and speak French. Some people have been coming every week for months... it creates a kind of warmth to the group.

Rafaël, started French Conversation Group

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy