DC Area Drone User Group Message Board Tech Talk - Drone Electronics / Hardware / Software › a rookie who want to build it's first drone

a rookie who want to build it's first drone

Gustavo Z.
user 56452902
Mc Lean, VA
Post #: 1
What do you recommend for a rookie who want to build it's first drone?
I have experience in IT, electronics and basic knowledge of Arduinos, so I want to assemble one instead of buying it prebuilt
I was looking at the ArduCopter kit from 3D Robotics. Between a quad and an hexa, what are the differences? more payload? stability? easier to tune? better battery usage?
Sorry for the silly questions, I'm really a rookie in this field ;-)
Neil
NeilM1968
Washington, DC
Gustavo, I had the non-flying quad last Sunday. Building it was really good fun, and I went through all the same questions you ask here. At the end of the day, my answer would be "it doesn't really matter". The transceiver, 'brain', ESCs, motors and sensors are what really costs money - the frame, and frame type, is the easy and cheap part, especially if you can print it. I went a little over the top on my frame, spending extra to make it from carbon, but you can do it from aluminium tube for next to nothing (shower rail from Home Depot is fine) - and it can easily be replaced. I used 3/4" square tube from www.dragonplate.com. Same applies to printing, especially if you can access a 3D printer at a hackerspace or a friend's place! Propellers are cheap, get lots of them, and a prop balancer. I found that I suddenly owned a lot more electronics tools as I went along, too... A good place for parts is The Hobby Hangar, in Chantilly (www.hhvastore.com for directions) - they are good, and come highly recommended by the most dedicated member! How else can you describe someone whose licence tags are 'FPV'? :-)