Jason D.
user 11888543
Baltimore, MD
Post #: 18
Howdy everyone. Im a relative newbie. I recently acquired a Phantom 2 with a zenmuse gimbal and gopro 3 for doing aerial videography, and am interested in setting up an FPV system. Does anyone have any recommendations on brand or specification? I don't think I need anything beyond 1000m range (the range of my transmitter) and it can't be 2.4ghz (transmitter frequency). I would prefer a goggle setup, maybe a fat shark dominator, boscam, or skyview, but not quite sure which yet (anyone use any of these?). In total I would prefer to spend under $500 for all the necessary parts. I think I will be using a DJI Mini OSD telemetry unit on it as well. I don't need head tracking.

Any recommendations tips or comments would be greatly appreciated!

Heres a vid of a recent flight near Baltimore:
Christopher V.
Group Organizer
Washington, DC
Post #: 371
I think a 400mw 5.8G boscam style system is considered "mid range" and would do the job for you. FPV is very much a YMMV thing, it depends on a lot of things such as your aircraft's altitude, buildings and other obstructions, sources of noise and interference, antenna design (very important), frequency band, etc etc etc

In general, the most impactful design decision for an FPV system seems to be antenna design; My 5.8 200mw boscam gear gets maybe 600m in clear LOS with the stock antennas. With cloverleaf antennas can increase that to 1km. I've even heard of people getting crazy ranges - this guy gets over 18km on just 200mw 5.8: http://www.youtube.co...­

Many people suggest that lower frequencies penetrate better through buildings and other obstructions. Frequencies such as 1.3GHz and 900MHz. I have not done enough testing on my own to see a difference compared to 5.8, YMMV