Eastern Ohio Freethinkers Message Board › Free will

Free will

A former member
Post #: 4
Randy,
I didn't answer your questions because I didn't know they were there (I hadn't discovered that there were more pages of conversations, silly me). Now there is so much, I'm not sure where to start. So, I will try and keep it simple.
I am not a scientist or a physicist. By reading what you have written, I obviously did not understand what you meant by not having free will. In my simplistic mind, not having free will means that you spend your whole life being a victim of everything and have no ability to change anything, and that is what I find to be offensive. I spent my childhood being a victim of 2 abusive alcoholics and as a result in my early adulthood, I would have done anything to get people to like me. After much reading of many different ideologies, phychology, and yes what you consider to be "woo, woo", I discovered that the choices I was making as to how I was thinking and believing about myself, did in fact make me a victim. So, through this philosophy I learned that I could change my life by changing the way I thought about myself. When I began to believe in myself and to believe that I deserved to be happy, my life began to change for the good. I have learned over the years that what seems to always be right is what I feel in my heart. Gut instinct. That is what works for me.