The Edmonton Hiking/Walking Meetup Group Message Board › Edmonton winters -- don't fight 'em, enjoy 'em -- and...

Edmonton winters -- don't fight 'em, enjoy 'em -- and...

A former member
Post #: 3
... and here's an offer you (can't) shouldn't refuse!
I've been working a few weeks now on a cross country ski trail on the east edge of the Cooking Lake moraine just outside Elk Island National Park.
It's wonderful, rolling terrain with patches of aspen bush and open meadows. The western portion is quite hilly, taking in a series of sheltered beaver dams and ponds with a snow depth of nearly two feet! There is abundant deer, moose and coyotes.
My trail starts from my brother's new farm and extends across other farms almost to the east boundary of Elk Island park. I am an expert trail finder/maker and in my humble opinion, it's the finest trail in the entire Edmonton area!
I took a group of nine moonlight skiing there on Jan. 5. And I'm proposing to lead a daylight trip this coming Sunday, afternoon, Jan. 21. Meet at the McDonalds restaurant at 3008 118th Ave (Abbotsfield Mall) at 1 p.m. The trail is about 45 minutes from there. Leave a message here for m ore info.
A former member
Post #: 17
Heya! I would be totally in for doing some skiing in the river valley, near the university as I don't have a vehicle to get out of the city! If you ever have plans on going around there let me know! I am not the best skiier (I even have the good old wooden skis) but I would like to get out this winter!
A former member
Post #: 4
If you don't have a car and are near the university, you're in luck because I also have a trail on Victoria golf course. In my opinion, it's vastly superior to the choo-choo track which the City parks and Rec crew maintain there with a snowmobile and track setter.