Leah H.

Location:

Edmonton, AB
Hometown: Edmonton

Member since:

October 11, 2012

Networks

Tell us about yourself (name, age, occupation, etc)

I moved to AB in early September last year to get to know estranged family better. I also thought it would give me some life experience by packing up and moving somewhere relatively far away from what I was used to. I can get along with pretty much anybody, and although I can be shy at first I love being around people, sharing laughs and having fun. I am currently working as a youth care worker for a special needs population. I hope to advance my education and become a more powerful/influential human services worker in the future though, either within child life care, counsel services, or social work areas. As you may have guessed I am still a bit unsure which has prevented me from going back to school. I am working in the field in a broad scope, in a front-line position in order to gain experience and knowledge of what areas of this work I enjoy the most.

Why did you want to join this group?

So far I have yet to make many friends so I am hoping that by joining this meetup group, I might get that chance :). I specifically joined a woman's only group because when I posted a networking ad on kijiji, I mostly received replies only from men and although I know it is possible to be friends with men, I am missing female bonding and I can trust woman's intentions a little easier. Although most of my friends have always been men, I miss some female chatter.

What kind of activities do you enjoy (ex: dancing, movies, shopping, sports, etc)

I enjoy hiking, jogging, yoga, bicycling, shopping, attending live comedy, being in nature, going to the movies. I also love music and concerts of almost any genre, but mostly prog. rock, alternative, and classic rock. I also am doing some self exploring and meditation these days.

What are you hoping to gain from this group?

I hope to gain some new friends :) and some fun experiences.

Are you within the recommended age group (between 20 - 40)?

No answer yet

Introduction

Hi there! I am a 26 year old who moved to Edmonton (about a year and a half ago now) from Halifax, NS. I moved here for family and now would like to meet some more people close to my age! I am finding it difficult to meet friends here so far.


Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy