Picnic in Baker Park

Let's meet up and have a veg picnic in Baker Park!

To bring:

- A vegan dish (so that everyone can enjoy it, regardless of their diet). And please check Meet Up before you prepare, so you can see how many folks are attending.
- Beverages
- A blanket
- Anything fun! Frisbees, games, kites, etc.

See you there!

Join or login to comment.

  • Jenny D.

    I placed the recipes of the items I brought under the 'Files' section here. I'd love to have other peoples' recipes too.

    August 30, 2012

  • Shankar

    On my way..see you @ 1:00PM !!!

    August 25, 2012

  • Brittany Nottingham C.

    Will anyone else be there with kiddos?

    August 24, 2012

    • Jenny D.

      We will be bringing our 10 year old daughter.

      August 24, 2012

  • A former member
    A former member

    Vegan mostly means meat, dairy and egg-free. Dishes do not need to be soy or gluten free. Most sugars these days are vegan (the bone char process isn't very common anymore). If you use an ingredient that you're unsure of though, maybe just put a little note on that sign that says "Contains _____." And if you're unsure what to make, there are loads of great vegan recipes on the Internet. A great cookbook, if you want to pick one up, is called Veganomicon.

    August 12, 2012

    • Alan

      I would add honey to the list of non-vegan ingredients. As for the sugar, it is my understanding that Florida Crystals is the largest sugar refinery in the US and they still use bone chars in the processing of their non-"natural" sugars. Strangely, the sugars with the label "Florida Crystals" is ok for vegans as that's a part of their "natural" line. Another great vegan cookbook is "Vegan with a Vengeance".

      August 12, 2012

    • A former member
      A former member

      I have vegan knowledge, and I have bought lots of vegetarian, vegan, and raw books on line, unfortunately, I pass most of them on because after perusing them, I don't find it is not a book I will use.(We should do a COOKBOOK Meetup where we can peruse each others books)................Th­ere are now entire sections on gluten free at stores and after reviewing the literature showing us that soy, which is in many foods, is 100% GMO, I no longer want to try to add it to my diet. http://www.naturalnew...­,

      August 12, 2012

  • A former member
    A former member

    Just to clarify vegan for myself, since this Meetup Group says Meat-Free, not vegan (meatfree is easy to know,lol)
    ....recipe to NOT contain, dairy, eggs, nor honey. Anything else I am missing, someone once told me vegans use no chocolate or sugar either. Do we also need it to be gluten and soy free for those diets as well?

    August 11, 2012

    • liz

      I can help with the chocolate Most Chocolate contains milk (even dark chocolate) MOMs and The COMMON MARKET both sell dairy free chocolate you want to look for Carob or Chocolate Dream ........... really you just have to read every label because even the stuff that you don't think could have something in it has something in it.

      1 · August 11, 2012

    • Alan

      Vegans do eat many sugars. If you buy it at MOMs or the Common Market it is most likely ok. The issue is that regular supermarket sugars, such as Dominos, possibly use animal bone chars as part of the filtering process. I will also not eat a product if it just has "sugar" on the ingredient list. Organic sugar on a label is ok. Thanks very much for your concern.

      1 · August 11, 2012

16 went

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create a Meetup Group and meet new people

Get started Learn more
Henry

I decided to start Reno Motorcycle Riders Group because I wanted to be part of a group of people who enjoyed my passion... I was excited and nervous. Our group has grown by leaps and bounds. I never thought it would be this big.

Henry, started Reno Motorcycle Riders

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy