Free Drawing in the Capital P Message Board › A cool drawing exercise to get you started!

A cool drawing exercise to get you started!

Dov Tsal S.
Dov-T.S
Group Organizer
Paris, FR
Post #: 3
If you want to dedicate an hour to experience drawing without judgement and be amazed at the results - take an hour off, and read on...

The first exercise my beloved teacher gave us when I started drawing is this:

(I copied the instructions below from the web and reduced them a bit, you can find the full version here:
http://www.castlenort...­ )

- Print the following picture to A4 size: Igor Stravinsky drawn by Picasso
(you can find it also at the attached pdf)
- Put it upside down (head down, legs up)
- The exercise is to draw a copy of it, but while turning off all judgement and knowledge.

1.Play music if you like, finish the drawing in one sitting, allowing yourself at least forty minutes (yea right)-more if possible. And more important, do not turn the drawing right side up until you have finished.

2. You may start anywhere you wish-bottom, either side, or the top. Most people tend to start at the top. Try not to figure out what you are looking at in the upside-down image. It is better not to know. Simply start copying the lines. But remember: don’t turn the drawing right side up!

3. I recommend that you not try to draw the entire outline of the form and then “fill in” the parts. The reason is that if you make any small error in the outline, the parts inside won’t fit. One of the great joys of drawing is the discovery of how the parts fit together. Therefore, I recommend that you move from line to adjacent line, space to adjacent shape, working your way through the drawing, fitting the parts together as you go.