addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrosseditemptyheartexportfacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Greater New Orleans Tea Party Message Board LOUISIANA STATE LEGISLATION, LEGISLATORS, REGULATION 2016 › SUPPORT HB 1243- CHARTER SCHOOLS AND FOREIGN WORKERS

SUPPORT HB 1243- CHARTER SCHOOLS AND FOREIGN WORKERS

Terri
user 9090133
Kenner, LA
Post #: 4,329
PER CHRIS Holton

11 hours ago
*** LOUISIANA ACTION ALERT! *** SHOW YOUR SUPPORT HB1243 TO PREVENT LOUISIANA’S CIVIL RIGHTS LAWS FROM BEING BYPASSED BY A LOOPHOLE FOR FOREIGN TEACHERS An important bill has been introduced in the Louisiana state legislature and ACT! for America is getting behind it. Further, we are asking for your help in moving it across the legislative finish line and into law.

The bill is HB1243--legislation that prevents discrimination based on race, religion, national origin, or any other reason in the use of non-immigrant foreign workers in taxpayer-supported charter schools here in Louisiana. A non-immigrant foreign worker is someone who gains preferential entry into the US on a work visa, but does not seek US citizenship. HB1243 is meant to ensure that the anti-discrimination laws that employers have to follow in hiring teachers and other employees in Louisiana are also followed when taxpayer-supported schools bring in non-immigrant foreign workers to teach our children. In other words, we must not allow an employer to bypass Louisiana's constitutional, equal rights laws through the hiring non-immigrant foreign workers. We think this is an important proposal that is worthy of our support and we ask that you use your powerful voice -- as a Louisiana resident and voter - to register your support as well. This action will enhance the chance of this bill ultimately being passed into law.

We need you to contact the members of the House Education Committee to let them know that you support HB1243 and that you'd like them to do so as well, by signing on as a cosponsor and voting "yes" when it is brought before their committee. For further background on this issue, here are three news reports from recent years on taxpayer-supported charter schools in Louisiana heavily involved in the use of non-immigrant foreign workers: FBI raid another scandal for charter school company http://www.wbrz.com/n...­ Records show glaring faults at school with ties to Turkish charter network http://www.nola.com/e...­ Maybe Now They'll Pay Attention http://thehayride.com...­

Here are the members of the House Education committee: Rep. Stephen Carter carters@legis.la.gov (225)362-5305 Rep. Patrick Jefferson jeffersonpo@legis.la.gov (318)927-2519 Rep. Wesley Bishop bishopw@legis.la.gov (504)242-4198 Rep. Chris Broadwater broadwaterc@legis.la.gov (985)543-4900 Rep. Henry Burns burnsh@legis.la.gov (318)949-2463 Rep. Thomas Carmody, Jr. carmodyt@legis.la.gov (318)862-9956 Rep. Simone Champagne champags@legis.la.gov (337)937-8827 Rep. John Bel Edwards edwardsj@legis.la.gov (985)748-2245 Rep. Cameron Henry henryc@legis.la.gov (504)838-5433 Rep. Paul Hollis hollisp@legis.la.gov (985)871-4680 Rep. Barry Ivey iveyb@legis.la.gov (225)261-5739 Rep. Nancy Landry landryn@legis.la.gov (337)262-2252 Rep. Edward J. Price pricee@legis.la.gov (225)644-6738 Rep. H. Eugene Reynolds reynoldsg@legis.la.gov (318)371-3092 Rep. Jerome Richard richardj@legis.la.gov (985)447-0999 Rep. Robert Shadoin shadoinr@legis.la.gov (318)251-5039 Rep. Patricia Haynes Smith smithp@legis.la.gov (225)342-7106 Rep. Jeff Thompson thompsonj@legis.la.gov (318)741-2850 Rep. Alfred Williams williamsa@legis.la.gov (225)382-3243

** ACTION ITEM ** Today, please take a moment to call and e-mail the members of the House Education Committee and ask that they support and cosponsor HB1243. In your own words, please respectfully relay the following:

Dear Representative_________, I urge you to support and co-sponsor HB1243, in order to see that Louisiana’s civil rights laws are not bypassed by a loophole for foreign workers. This bill is of the utmost importance to me! Thank you for your leadership on this vital matter. Sincerely, (Your name and city) ****************************************­****************************************­ Thank you, Louisiana! Your actions are making a difference! Sincerely, Christopher Holton Director of Education and Outreach ACT! For America REMEMBER, YOUR VOICE COUNTS! IF EACH OF US DOES JUST A LITTLE, TOGETHER WE CAN ACCOMPLISH A LOT!
FBI raid another scandal for charter school company | WBRZ News 2 Louisiana : Baton Rouge, LA |
Powered by mvnForum

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy