Hiking and Exploring with Friends Message Board › Memorial Day

Memorial Day

Rick
user 9278517
Group Organizer
Issaquah, WA
Post #: 12
Hello Folks,

Just wanted to share a few thoughts with you about today.

As many of you know I am an ex Air Force pilot. I served by flying fighters in the post Viet Nam era and did not see combat duty, but was certainly ready and eager if I had been called to do so. I was only in the Air Force for about 8 years after college so I have been a “Mister” much longer than I was an Air Force officer.

It is amazing how age gives you a sense of perspective and mellows the hormones that were flowing strong when we were younger. I was and am proud of the service I gave my country. Even though I was never in combat, at that point in my life I would have been eager to go if I had been called. I would have gladly done what was asked of me in carrying out the duties I was assigned.

As we reflect on this Memorial Day season I would like to offer some food for thought about the use of our military in today’s world. These are totally my thoughts and I am sure some of you will not agree, but here goes.

War is a very ugly concept. It is “RAW” spelled backwards. One definition of “raw” is when something is unnaturally or painfully exposed. This is what happens to our young men and women, both physically and emotionally, as a consequence of the horrible things they, at times, suffer through and witness. Many times the emotional impact is far greater than the physical damage.

Don’t get me wrong, there are definitely some things worth fighting for! What bothers me is the cavalier way our leaders have committed our young men and women to combat, across the world during the last 50 years or so. For all of us that have lived through the conflicts we have endured, from Viet Nam until the present, all of us have at times asked ourselves WHY??