Filip de W.

Location:

Amsterdam

Member since:

May 11, 2012

Networks

How would you describe your interest in Jazz music ?

I'm not a musician, but as a casual listener I have become passionate about jazz. I prefer modern jazz ranging from the current avant garde to the bebop of the late 1940's. I'm less fond of what I describe as wedding music or carnival jazz, like big band, but there are always exceptions. I'm new to jazz, since I have only been serious about the genre for about a year and a half. I love hanging out with musicians and experienced listeners in order to discover new stuff.

How well do you know the Jazz scene in the Netherlands ?

Not very well at at all. I'm regularly travelling to see gigs, so I've seen a few venues like the Paradox in my hometown, the Schuttershof in Middelburg and LantarenVenster in Rotterdam, but I haven't yet been to the Bimhuis, for example. I'm starting to get to know some people in the jazz local community, like Kenny Talkowski and Frank Trommelen, and they have been a great help in this adventure.

Tell us one specific thing which you expect from the group as a member ?

I'm mostly signing up to receive the updates, but I'm most definitely planning to attend some meetups. Since I live in Tilburg and don't have a car it isn't always convenient to attend late night gigs in the Randstad, but whenever there is something special I either book a hotel or spend the night waiting for the next train home.

Introduction

My name is Filip de Waard and I was born in 1985. I live in Tilburg in the south of the Netherlands. I am a Clojure developer, search specialist and founder of Vixu.com.


Interests

  • Not yet added

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy