LA Robotics Club Message Board › High School Robotics Team needs mentors!

High School Robotics Team needs mentors!

A former member
Post #: 1
I am a high school teacher at Sun Valley High School in the San Fernando Valley. We are starting a robotics class in August with 30-40 very enthusiastic seniors who will be entering FTC, VEX and MUC robotics competitions. We certainly could use some help from the Robotics community. These students have been hand picked for the class and are willing to put in the time and effort to succeed. In the best of all worlds, I would have mentors for individual sub-teams i.e. Mechanics, Electronics, Programming etc. that would be able to spend a couple of hours a week with some "elbow time". This is an opportunity to have a big impact on the lives of young people.
Charles
user 13611753
Marina del Rey, CA
Post #: 11

Hello, I'm looking for high school students to build a solar powered unmanned airplane to fly from California to Hawaii. But I believe the best way to work with students is to make it a 2 or 3 year project. More time allows working with sponsors to help make the project work to not spend $3,000.00 or more. At one time rejected solar cells for satellites sold for $10K. Panels not rejected that make it to space cost more like $100K each.

My goal is to work with a team of students so the team gets tuition free scholarships to one or more university. This may save some students $100K to $200K depending on what degree they want to earn.