addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson,Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.



Join or login to comment.

  • Kate L

    We are in the back room again

    June 25, 2014

  • Charlin

    Running 10 min late

    June 25, 2014

  • Megan

    So is there an open mic night at Swirl tonight? I am confused.

    June 25, 2014

  • Terry

    Can't make this one due to other commitment but I love the idea of more sub book groups! Great idea, Kate. Have fun tomorrow evening! Catch you folks next time. :-)

    June 24, 2014

  • Connie

    It looks like I am going to have to work late all week so not going to be able to make it.

    June 24, 2014

  • Lorena

    Okay waitlisters, I'm gonna take the bull by the horns and say...If you're on the waitlist let's meet up at the Pour House at 7. Who's in so I know how much room to take up???
    (Kate, is this okay?? Don't want to step on any toes!)

    1 · June 20, 2014

    • A former member
      A former member

      Sorry ladies- I have an early am meeting the next day so I am going to opt-out of this one. Hope to see you next time!

      June 23, 2014

    • Lorena

      So is it just Judy and I that are on the waitlist and heading over to The Pour House? Waitlisters, please let us know so we know how much room to save.

      June 24, 2014

  • Kate L

    Yes, please meet, there is a lot to talk about with this one! I'm sorry we could not accommodate everyone this time. I am thinking of making more frequent meetups/another group within this meetup. Would anyone be interested in a daytime, genre specific, fast readers, or any other type of group?

    3 · June 20, 2014

    • Lorena

      Hi Kate, I just wanted to let you know that I think there will be a an open mic at Swirl on Wednesday night. It's a local writers group and people can read their poetry and such. I don't know if that will interrupt your group.

      June 22, 2014

    • A former member
      A former member

      I agree I think the fast readers one would be great!

      June 23, 2014

  • Gina L.

    I will be unable to come to this meeting - I need to be in Pleasanton between 7:30-8 pm. for another commitment that night. Great suggestion though - I hope it works out. Putting my 2 cents in, I vote to read "The Museum of Extraordinary Things" by Alice Hoffman for next time! See you all the next time we meet.

    June 20, 2014

    • Kate L

      We are going to pick at random again and that one is on the list. Hope to see you next time!

      June 20, 2014

  • Lorena

    Did the waitlisters decide on meeting?

    June 20, 2014

  • Tiffany

    Yes!! Let's do it!

    June 19, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    Hi Ladies! I noticed there are 8 of us on the wait list. Do us waitlisters want to meet together? Same day and time - we can just pick a different location?

    1 · June 18, 2014

    • Lorena

      I just joined the waitlist and I'd love to meet.

      June 19, 2014

  • Kate L

    Hey ladies! We have quite a few people on the waiting list, so please make sure to update your RSVP if you can’t make it. I am also available on wednesday (6/25) afternoon if anybody on the waiting list wanted to meet during the day.

    June 17, 2014

  • Lindsey

    How does this work? Are only 10 people allowed in the club? I am new to town and would love to join a book club.

    May 30, 2014

    • Kate L

      We want everyone to be able to speak, so we try to limit each meetup to 10 people. I put up the next book right after the current book meetup ends.

      May 30, 2014

    • Lindsey

      Ok sounds good. Thanks for responding. Hopefully the next one I can get a spot :)

      May 31, 2014

  • Carissa

    I missed yesterday's meetup! Is this the next book? I'm on the waitlist :(

    May 30, 2014

  • Megan

    YESSSSS. MY SPOT. MIIIINE. *hisses* >:D

    1 · May 28, 2014

10 went

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy