Los Angeles Urban Chicken Enthusiasts Message Board › pine shavings

pine shavings

A former member
Post #: 1
I went to red barn feed in Tarzana last Saturday to buy pine shavings and was told they no longer sell pine shavings in bulk. They now only sell the 1000 cu in (compressed) package by Kaytee for $8.00. So, now I have to find a new place to buy pine shavings from. On the bright side, I don't have to endure their crappy customer service.

Does anyone in the SFV use pine shavings and if so, where do you get yours from? Does anyone use something other than pine shavings?
user 38945632
Porter Ranch, CA
Post #: 4
Hi Daniel-

I'm quite new to all this, but I read that you should avoid cedar, straw and hay. Chickens are allergic to cedar and if you use hay or straw, they will attract lice, house mites and other pests.

We went to check out Red Barn in Tarzana last week & their service was luke warm too. I'd like to know if you find a new place to buy pine shavings.

We haven't gotten our chickens yet, just doing all of our homework first. =)

Thanks & good luck,

mike n.
user 18212811
Los Angeles, CA
I get a 30 gallon trash bag full of pine shavings from my local indie pendant lumber store ( eagle rock hardware in eagle rock , $5 ). You can also get large bags from damoor's in glendale .

If I had to do it again , I would recommend pine sawdust over shavings as my two hens treat the nesting box ( where they never lay eggs ) like a pine shavings salad bar . Whether there is poo or not .

Roberta K.
user 10948851
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 33
I was wondering about them eating the shavings. I like the texture and smell better than straw but it dosn't seem to last long unless thick on the chicken coop floor because they eat so much. I was worried about the lumber places just because of the possibility of treated lumber. There is a place in downtown that will give away tons of sawdust but i was worried that the dust would get into their lungs...
user 22850431