Los Angeles Urban Chicken Enthusiasts Message Board › Breeds that can handle 110° heat in Woodland Hills

Breeds that can handle 110° heat in Woodland Hills

Dawn N.
user 86243652
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 1
Hello All,

New here as of 2 minutes ago. I'm a chef, I staged in France at a small country farm that raised, hatched, sold eggs and butchered meat. It was a grand experience, however the one thing I did NOT learn was what breeds do well in super duper hot weather.

Extra info:

1//2 of their run will be covered
I am home almost all day every day so I can keep an eye on them in the heat
I have seen different answer on websites so I want to hear from the actual folks who LIVE in this heat as you know first hand what breeds do well.

Thanks!!!!

Dawn
Debbie
user 76599302
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 11
Have you thought about adding a mister to the run area. It got over 100 a few times last year in the San Gabriel Valley and the chickens did really well with the mister.
A former member
Post #: 10
Heritage breeds and dual purpose breeds tend to do better than others.... We have Barnevelder and they have done well in the west valley heat, but all breeds need lots of water and shade. We have had a few time when a hen just drops from the heat, out of a flock of 30+, for no apparent reason.

We had added misters and as much shade as possible.... And we also give them watermelon when it gets warm so they keep their fluid intake up...

There are a number of web sites that list breeds and if they do well in the heat or cold.... Something to google. ;)

Gary of Winnetka Farms
Dawn N.
user 86243652
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 2