addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo
nora
user 12397577
Monterey Park, CA
Post #: 2
i'm a newbie to this group as well as to the urban chicken world. no coop or chickens as yet. plan to build coop with run included from designs. wrote up designs myself but have already gotten input from some of you on helping me with that.

some questions, just to confirm i've understood it right so far.

i've decided to set aside no more than 12' long and 8 ' wide area of my back yard for this coop. the size of the coop i've been thinking of is 5' w by 8 ' l by 6 ' h.

is 10 sq ft per chicken the amount needed?

is multiplying 5 x 8 x 6 giving me the total amount of square feet or do i only multiply 5 x 8?

i'm only wanting bantams, i think. would like to have no more than 12 chickens all total. would getting all 12 at first be good or should i start out with a few? thinking maybe a few because if something is not right and they pass it would only be a small number.

the only reason i want chickens is for their eggs. goal is to have for self and to sell to generate income. also, to be for my pets.

as to pets, i currently have a dog and a cat so my new furry friends need to have temperaments for them also.

happy and excited to be part of this group. thanks to all for your input.
Vickie
Spinster_Sister
Hawthorne, CA
Post #: 38