Maria

Location:

Madrid

Member since:

June 1, 2013

Networks

Tell us something about yourself!

My 8th Birthday present was a UNICEF book called "Children like me". It was about different children life's around the world, I read it thousands of times and my biggest dream became to meet people and cultures from different countries. My first summer of Uni, I went to Ireland, where I lived with an Irish family and I shared the room with a Japanese and a German girl. I met friends from different countries and I realized how much I like it, I really felt so understood by people that was supposed to be "so different". Next summer I went to UK, and then every summer I visit a friend in a different part of the world: Russia, USA, Poland... When I was almost finishing my university studies I got an Erasmus scholarship for studying one year in Ghent (Belgium). There I met very good friends from all over the world, even I visited some friend from Brazil! Now, Im back in Spain, working...and I believe I need international friends here, if not I'll feel homesick forever...

Where are you from? What brought you to Madrid?

I belong everywhere and nowhere... ;) I was born in a town from Toledo but I moved out 3 times with my family when I was little... so sincerely, I can just say I am from Spain. Now, Im living in a small town between Madrid and Toledo, but Im moving to Madrid city in September because of work

What days suit you best for meeting up?

I would rather weekends. But I am not still in Madrid. Maybe when Im there I will feel like going out some week-day evenings :)

How long have you been in Madrid?

Now I am in a small town between Madrid and Toledo so there is no much to do here, also is very far from Madrid so I cannot hang out easily. This summer Im going to Lisbon to learn Portuguese. When I come back in September I will move to Madrid and I'll be ready to all of your events! :)

Describe your idea of a perfect weekend in Madrid.

I like take advantage of the wonderful Spanish sun, so I love going out during the day. Maybe spend the day walking through Madrid, go to Retiro or ride a bike near the river 'Manzanares' and have lunch in 'Mercado San Miguel' or some 'tapas' in La Latina. I like gardens and museums also. This can be a perfect Saturday day orSunday. If you fancy I also like going out in the evening and drink some cocktails or beers... To tell you the truth I am really flexible (maybe because I get used to make friends with so different tastes!)

Introduction

Hi! I was born 28 years ago in a town of Toledo (Spain). I studied an Engineering and I love travelling, meeting new cultures, and having friends around the world. Also, I love photography and horses :)


Our Sponsors

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy