MinnSpec -- Minnesota Speculative Fiction Writers Message Board MinnSpec -- Minnesota Speculative Fiction Writers Discussion Forum › Introduce Yourself, and tell us what you write!

Introduce Yourself, and tell us what you write!

Roy C. B.
user 3023314
Bemidji, MN
Post #: 332
Welcome aboard, Tammy...
Michael G.
user 15642961
Saint Paul, MN
Post #: 1
Hello. My name is Mike, and I'm new here.

I've been writing since I was a kid. In high school I finished my first novel, and about two weeks ago I finished my tenth.

My life plan, as far as writing is concerned, was always to write in my spare time but keep my main focus on school – Once I graduate and have a real job, I could try to get my books published. Well, now I graduated, got a real job, and have no excuses left, so it's time to try publishing my novels. I just finished the first book of a new series.

My newest series is an Urban Fantasy about a wizard that lives in the Twin Cities area and works as a bodyguard and consultant to the CEO of a conglomerate corporation.

I found this group and decided to join in hopes to both improve my skills as a writer, and to learn about the publishing process so that I can get my novels published.
Pat S.
user 4680734
Minneapolis, MN
Post #: 376
Welcome, Michael. You'll find a good range of writing skills and interests represented in the group. Be sure to come to one of the in-person meetings, such as at Lunds. If you can, I'd strongly encourage you to come to the critique session and to read the submitted pieces in advance. No need to come with critiques. I think reading before coming will make observing the critique session much more rewarding and will help calibrate your sensibilities with those of others in the group.

Of course, some might be described as having no sensibilities. I no longer blush when people tell me that.
Roy C. B.
user 3023314
Bemidji, MN
Post #: 341
Welcome aboard, Mike, welcome aboard.
Terry F.
TFaust
Minneapolis, MN
Post #: 697