The Minneapolis/St. Paul Backpackers Meetup Group Message Board › Cloud Peak Wilderness Trip

Cloud Peak Wilderness Trip

Josh W.
user 23192701
Eden Prairie, MN
Post #: 5
I am planning a trip to the Cloud Peak Wilderness in Bighorn National Forest in Wyoming.  Dates for this trip are July 18-22, 2012.  It is a 13hr drive from the Twin Cities and 4 hours past Rapid City, SD.  Since this is my first time to that area it will mostly be an exploratory trip with hiking in and setting up a base camp and doing off trail day hikes to explore the mountains.  My goal for base camp is Willow Lake at an elevation of 9600ft.  From the maps, it looks like there are several alpine lakes and areas above tree line for views near Willow Lake.   One of the goals of this trip will be to see if there is a possible route up 12,400ft Darton Peak for a future trip.

My intended schedule is as follows:
Wed 7/18:  Drive to Buffalo, WY.  Either stay at a hotel or find a nearby campground depending on group consensus.  Finding a campground between 7000-8000ft would be best for acclimatization.
Thur 7/19:  Hike into Willow Lake, setup camp, explore the area.
Fri 7/20:  Explore the 4+ mile route up Darton Peak to see if it will go.  Depending on the number of people going, we could split up and explore different areas.
Sat 7/21:  Break camp, hike out, be back to the cars no later than 2pm, drive to Rapid City, SD.  Either stay at a hotel or stop at the Flying J truck stop to shower and then find a campground - maybe in the Badlands.  Have dinner at the Firehouse Brewery - awesome beer!!!
Sun 7/22:  Drive back to the Twin Cities in time to do laundry before having to go back to work on Monday.

Other details:
Bear canisters will be necessary for food.  The Bighorn National Forest website only mentions black bears, so I don't think we will have to be conscious of grizzlies.