Kari P.

Assistant Organizer

Location:

Keene, NH
Hometown: Paramus, NJ

Member since:

June 30, 2013

Which aspects of mountaineering and backcountry sports are of most interest to you? -- (Hiking) (Backcountry Skiing) (Ice Climbing) (Rock Climbing) (Backpacking & Camping) ?

Hiking, Rock Climbing, Ice Climbing, Backpacking and Camping

What is your level of mountaineering experience or other backcountry skills? -- (Novice) (Beginner) (Intermediate) (Advanced) (Pro)? (Feel free to add some specifics):

Hiking - Advanced/Pro, I lead hiking and backpacking trips Backpacking and Camping - Advanced/Pro, 5 years of guiding experience with youth Rock Climbing - Intermediate, started climbing 9 years ago but really only consistently about a year ago, consistent 5.8/5.9 climber on TR, will lead up to 5.7 sport or trad (need to borrow gear), or second for multi-pitch Ice Climbing - Beginner/Intermediate, just started this year, can climb WI3/4 Mountaineering - Beginner, have done winter hikes in the White Mountains and some mountaineering in Ecuador

What is your greatest achievement in the the mountains as of today?

I summited Cotopaxi (19,347 feet), and have trekked in the Himalayas as well. My winter summit of Mount Washington had the coldest temperatures. I also biked across the United States in 2009, which meant going over Hoosier Pass at 11,000+ feet, gaining from sea level.

What is you "next" greatest goal? Touch some summit? Backpack a trail?

I want to climb 5.10 consistently outdoors on real rock and be able to lead 5.8 sport and trad routes comfortably.

What was your most epic, trip that gives you the cold sweats in the middle of the night?

Probably the few times I almost died while biking across the United States. But really every experience I have has been awesome and I don't freak out about them too much.

Introduction

I'm a 27 year old outdoor enthusiast and AMC & AAC member looking to meet other people with similar interests and wishing to explore more of New England.


Our Sponsors

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy