addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

NW Home Gardening Message Board › Rain Barrels for Us :)

Rain Barrels for Us :)

Closed to new replies

A former member
Post #: 23
Hi all, I have been getting a variety of reclaimed 55 gallons PE barrels, modified to harvest rain.

If you didn't know, I'm an Environmental Engineer who worked in Watershed Management for years, and support rain harvesting for the following reasons:
1. reduce your water bill & get city credits (who doesn't like more money?)
2. enhance watershed health by reducing your water load into our sewer system
3. decrease public spending on water treatment before AND after your barrels!
etc etc

Write me if you're interested.
Best,
Chris

Here is more info:
The City of Portland's Downspout Disconnection Program had been operational for several years,
but unfortunately ended on June 30, 2011.

It had offered homeowners a $53 direct reimbursement for disconnecting the vertical downspout --
so that rainwater run-off from your rooftop can flow into a 55-gallon, plastic barrel (instead of into the sewer).

However, the Bureau of Environmental Services will still offer you the ongoing possibility of a "CleanRivers" reward --
if you simply disconnect your downspout from pouring the rainfall down the drain.