Karece

Location:

New York, NY
Hometown: New York, NY

Member since:

January 25, 2014

Introduction

Hi! I'm a native New Yorker working in higher education.

What's your favorite variety of tea?

Black.

Sign in to post a Greeting.

  • david friedman

    Congratulations­ on your promotion.

    Jul 01, 2014 3:25 PM
  • david friedman

    Hi Karece,

    Thank you asking about my dog, Frodo. He's doing okay, but still has diarrhea. I have to feed him boiled chicken and white rice. He's on some pills that the vet gave me. He's had this many times, because he picks up garbage on the street. He'll be alright in a few days.

    David

    Feb 14, 2014 1:22 AM
  • Marissa Jordan

    Hey Karece, On the hosting list - which David is it that follows Raj?

    Dec 20, 2013 8:08 PM
  • May

    Hi Karece, Welcome to the group, see you next month at Sleeping Beauty, thanks for suggesting it :)
    May

    Jan 04, 2013 9:19 AM
  • david friedman

    The KGB Bar has monthly readings by science fiction, fantasy, and horror writers on the 3rd wednesday of each month. You can go to kgbfantasticfic­tion.org to see upcoming readings. This month has John Kessell and S. G. Browne on 10/17/12 at 7pm

    Oct 10, 2012 5:24 PM
  • david friedman

    The following synopses is from AmazonThe first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next.

    Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is ordinary, and dodo's are pets. Thursday Next is a library detective. She is called to investigate when Jane Eyre is kidnapped.

    Oct 09, 2012 5:53 PM
  • david friedman

    Hi Karece, I've noticed a curious trend in fantasy lately. It's books starring Ltbrarians as heroes. The books titles are as follows: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, World Soul by Liz Williams, and the most recent, Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines. As a suggestion for a future discussion, I would like to read The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. This is the forst book in the Thursday Next series. This is the book that started the trend.

    Oct 09, 2012 5:39 PM
  • Joel B

    I was thinking the Diamond Age, by Neil Stephenson. Do you think 500 pages is too long?

    Oct 08, 2012 6:46 PM
  • Katherine Hall

    Hi, maybe we can discuss the November meeting, tomorrow?

    Thanks,
    Katherine

    Oct 08, 2012 11:26 AM
  • Katherine Hall

    So, I was thinking I could take November, if the other possible host didn't want it. Cohosting would be fine by me, but if the other person has a book they want us to read, no worries. I'll just join the rotation for next time.

    Sep 20, 2012 4:08 PM
Older Greetings

Member of

  • This member chose not to make their Meetup membership information public.

Interests

  • This member chose not to make their interests public.

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy