add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

New York City Investor's Business Daily Meetup Group Message Board NYC Investor's Business Daily Meetup Group Discussion Forum › Investment Frustration, Selling into Fear and Hold Rules

Investment Frustration, Selling into Fear and Hold Rules

A former member
Post #: 3
Investment Frustration, Selling into Fear and Hold Rules

I am struggling with being a better investor and am looking for some feedback. Let me just say I believe the CANSLIM strategy is sound and my success or failure is a result of my faults and errors in applying the methodology.

I have been investing for a little over two years now and have had a few minor success and MANY failures. In looking back, I can see my two biggest obstacles to success have been fear, and lack of patience.

Honestly, one other big issue is my lack of commitment to the process and educating myself. I have relied on the IBD screens to give me my watch lists and not done a lot of homework past that. In a perfect world, where I am flawless, that would be okay and I could have some investing success. However, shocking as it may seem, I am not flawless.

So, fear is an issue. It seems when my investments are doing okay, meaning they’re in positive territory, I’m just fine. But when they go negative, I get worried. As they move down it gets worse and I start looking many times throughout the day at the price action. Sometimes this goes on for days until an up day and then I can relax until, of course, the next down day.

This is where impatience is a problem. As I get worried and scared, I sell. Sometimes, most times, too quickly. Case in point: