add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

NYC Independent Traders and Investors Message Board › Are options RISKY??

Are options RISKY??

Frank A.
user 9290783
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 1
18 sep 2012

As a serious options trader, I herein share a few thoughts toward the advancement of NYCPI in an offer to begin a discussion among other option traders of all levels.

The options world consists of two groups: Those who lose most or all of their money in their first year of trading options (80% to 85%) and those who consistently draw money from the market (15% to 20%).

Thus many people feel that trading options is very risky.

The FACT is that professional options traders find that it’s fun and easy to do!
Why the disparity?

In my estimation, though many traders/investors are lured to options because of their leverage advantages, they get in a hurry to start making money ASAP and do trades that they don’t fully understand. They trade far too large for the size of their portfolios, and have unrealistic expectations of what they can expect to make in their beginning years as a trader.

The quicksand pit that I wish to point out to my fellow trading students, is the ironic fact that the reason most options students lose all of their money is because they are chasing after…………….profits!

That to which I refer is that they get into a HURRY and want to make BIG money and they make the dreadful mistake of putting too much of their money at risk in trades that they don’t fully comprehend. They, as my trading mentor says, “Get in a big hurry to lose their money.”