Naperville Freaks, Geeks, and Weirdos Message Board › Genesis: Setting generation rpg needs playtesters!

Genesis: Setting generation rpg needs playtesters!

A former member
Post #: 216
Hey folks! Besides being a freak, geek, and weirdo, I'm a game designer. I've come up with a new game and need some help playtesting it. The working title is Genesis and it's a setting generation roleplaying game. Curious? Here's some details:

• If you like Game of Thrones, and you like writing, this game is for you!
  • We will play entirely online through emails and a wiki. No need to coordinate everyone's schedule!
  • You will control a noble House, and each turn, you will attack your rivals and defend against their attacks.
  • The setting is bare bones because we will be creating the setting as we play!
  • Rules are simple: Roll d100 below your attribute. No hit points, no skills, just roll and play!
  • If you succeed, you get to write a short piece about your victory--this helps design the setting!
  • Rounds can last a few days or even a week or more but there's minimal time requirements. The game works around your schedule, not vice versa!

Genesis is based on a modified version of the Lexicon game rules but has roleplaying elements to it. I'm calling it a setting generation game because you can play Genesis to flesh out the details of a setting for a rpg, even if the setting is mostly created already. As we play Genesis, we will create NPCs, locations, traditions, faiths, battles, and history for a fantasy setting. This is as much an exercise in creativity as it is a game.

Right now, I'm looking for 5-7 players. Again, this is completely online--we share our plans, rolls, and writing via email and a wiki hosted on Obsidian Portal. We'll keep things fluid, starting new rounds when everyone is ready. This is a playtest, so we might find broken rules or whatnot--but since it's my game, we can fix it instantly!