NSS Convention: Trip Report

avra c.
divermate
New York, NY
Post #: 2,060
NSS Convention, 2012

Greenbrier County, West Virginia.
So many caves, so little time!

This was my first NSS convention and as a novice caver, my priority was obviously to go caving. Mindful of the advice imparted by our grotto leader: "Ditch your grotto! You can cave with them anytime", I did manage to get out and underground on a couple of trips with folks from the area and also others from far afield. Of the six days spent at convention, I managed a cave a day for the first five: Rockland Spring Cave, Piercy's Mill Cave, McClung, Piercy's Cave and a great trip through a piece of Norman Cave led by Andrew Foord, our intrepid Chairperson.

So much to do, and so much to say about it.

The Caves.
I'm a newbie from the hard core scuba school. Wanted to learn about caves in anticipation of underwater cave training. Whether that will happen remains to be seen. But I've discovered that caving is an entirely absorbing activity that entails multiple skill sets. It is both physically and psychologically demanding while being strangely ethereal and rewarding in a way that is very primal and viscerally felt. Though I miss the ability to float, I still feel I am moving in three dimensions, as indeed I am.

I don't possess the vocabulary to describe all the wonderful decoration and formations that I got to see in the short list of caves I visited. But it was like nothing that I've seen in my few forays here in the northeast. West Virginia boasts hundreds of caves and a good few of the longer systems were conveniently located close to our campground. I didn't make it to Scott's Hollow, but all reports from there were sterling.