addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Meredith

Location:

New York, NY

Member since:

August 1, 2010

Please use a picture showing your face. Some event hosts require it, and it is always helps to recognize people.

Yes. I read the About Us and the Rule and Guidelines. I promise to abide. My profile picture shows my face ... though I'm not always that polished :)

Do you understand that these are social events for hikers, and you are responsible for your own safety at all times?

Yes. As a responsible, grown woman ... they make perfect sense to me.

Which types of events interest you: Short day hikes, long day hikes, weekend camping, backpacking, winter hiking, world travel, rock climbing, canyoneering, mountaineering, etc?

I'll start with short day hikes. I have never been camping (again, I'm from Florida. Would you want to sleep outside?), but would be open to it. Backpacking and winter hiking may be things to which I aspire, but I'll need to work to get there.

Do you have any hiking experience? If yes, where and what kind of trips? Please provide a brief description of length, duration and trail difficulty as this information helps us better plan events suitable for the group.

I've been on short hikes around the country: Finger Lakes, Rocky Mountain NP, Arches NP, etc. I took a long, hot day hike through the hill tribes of Thailand last Feb; and walked Copacabana, Bolivia to Isle of the Sun (ok, where we hired a boat)

Would you say you're a slow, intermediate, or fast hiker?

I'd say that I'm intermediate with moments of fast / slow depending. Generally intermediate.

Introduction

My name is Meredith. I grew up in South Florida, and never realized how lovely it could be to be outside until I got the hell outta there :) I've lived in NYC about ten years, with a few years in Chapel Hill, NC for graduate school.


Our Sponsors

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy