Writers Who Mean Business (TM) Message Board › Accountability -- Why You Should Join One of Our Two Working Groups

Accountability -- Why You Should Join One of Our Two Working Groups

A former member
Post #: 2
Accountability -- Why You Should Join One of Our Two Working Groups
By Michelle Gamble-Risley, CEO, 3L Publishing (www.3LPublishing.com)

Are you one of those writers who has been working on that novel or non-fiction book for "years"? I hear this common story: I have been writing this book for five years. Now I don't expect any writer to be as prolific as the next one, but as a publisher who believes in the "business" of writing, I have to ask, "Is that practical if you want to succeed?" Think about it. How much money can you possibly make on your book that took you five years to write? The real question is, "Why?" Do you start, stop, start, stop? Do you find you feel blocked?

The solution is simple: you need accountability. You need a way or group or person to hold you accountable to your writing goals. Accountability is like that teacher who gives you a due date for your paper so you can get a grade. It's that extra push for you to sit down and get it done. I suggest writers find an accountability partner -- another writer who needs that extra push. Whoever you chose as an accountability partner must be willing to do what the word suggests: hold you accountable. You can't work with someone who will back off and accept your excuses. The point is to get it done with some push.