addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Hike and Picnic - Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Aug 24, 2013 · 10:30 AM
  • This location is shown only to members

It's been a long time, and with a picture perfect weather forecast for this Saturday (sunny, highs in the upper 70s with low humidity), seems like this will be a great day for a hike and picnic!

We'll meet at 10:30 in parking lot.  Look for my silver Subaru Forester.  The Sanctuary charges $4.00 per person for non-members (plus the standard $1.00 meetup fee to maintain the website).

I'm estimating that we'll walk about 5 miles give or take; combined with the picnic, allow about 3 hours plus 1/2 hour for the picnic. 

Hiking or walking shoes with non-slip soles are recommended.  Pack along a couple of sandwiches, beverages, etc. 

Now that it is later in the season and with the lack of rainfall, the bugs are far fewer than earlier in the season, but bring along insect repellent anyway.

As we will be having our picnic on the trail, pack along a towel or small blanket if you wish to do so.  Birds and other wildlife (including beavers and deer) are beginning to be on the move now, so a camera and binoculars come in handy for wildlife viewing and photos!

Here is the link to the sanctuary:

http://www.massaudubon.org/Nature_Connection/Sanctuaries/Ipswich_River/index.php

Let me know if you need more information on the directions.  It's about 2 miles from the intersection of Routes 97 and 1.

Important to note that the Sanctuary does not allow dogs, due to the presence of birds and wildlife.

As with all Meetups, members assume all associated risks.

Look forward to seeing you there!

Randy






Join or login to comment.

  • Randy

    Lisa - photos are gorgeous! Glad to hear that everyone had a good time. We'll do it again in a few weeks!

    August 26, 2013

  • Randy

    Lisa - photos are gorgeous! Glad to hear that everyone had a good time. We'll do it again in a few weeks!

    August 25, 2013

  • Linda

    It was great to meet such a lovely bunch of fellow walkers in such a beautiful setting. And thanks to randy for organizing the hike. By the way, I'm just fine after the fall. Can't tell if the sore muscles are from the walk or the fall. But all is well.

    August 25, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Linda - Glad that you had a nice time and that you're OK after that fall!

      August 25, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    An apology to everyone who went on the hike today - I managed to get bad driving directions and arrived very late - I had a wonderful walk, but wasn't able to find the group and hope you didn't waste too much time waiting for me. Thanks anyway and I hope to see you next time.

    August 24, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Carol - Not a problem...and thanks for the note that you left on my windshield. Hopefully you can join us next time. I will be doing this hike and picnic again quite frequently in the fall and winter months.

      August 24, 2013

    • A former member
      A former member

      sounds good!

      August 25, 2013

  • Sun L.

    It was perfect.

    August 25, 2013

  • Betty R.

    A great walk and fun group. Thank you for the inroduction to the Sanctuary with its lovely trails.

    August 25, 2013

  • Bill

    Hope it was fun! I was sent an E-mail at 10:32 to tell me I was off the wait list & could come! Oh well!

    August 24, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Bill - Yes, those automated RSVP e-mails can be hard to figure out at times. If someone cancels at 10:32, then the next person on the wait list will get an automated e-mail, even if the Meetup has already started! The way it goes. I will be doing this hike and picnic again in September and October, so hopefully you can join us next time.

      August 24, 2013

    • Bill

      Thanks Randy!

      August 25, 2013

  • jojo

    Thanks Lisa for all the beautiful photos. And thank you Randy for making sure we had the best day ever!

    August 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Thank you Randy, you were a wonderful guide.

    August 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    I'm with you Lisa. I didn't realize how tired I was until I got home but enjoyed the day thoroughly.

    August 24, 2013

  • Lisa

    It was great meeting everyone. Don't know about you but my legs are jello. Talk soon. Pic to follow soon

    August 24, 2013

  • Jenney

    I didn't realize I'd make it out of the wait list; didn't see this yesterday; meanwhile offered to help someone packing up to
    move...I hope someone else gets a chance to join the hike.

    August 24, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Jenney - That is fine - hopefully you can join us in September or October.

      August 24, 2013

  • Randy

    Glad to hear that everyone had a great time today! We will do it again in the fall.

    August 24, 2013

  • jojo

    Could not be better!

    August 24, 2013

  • Deb D.

    Fun time good people!

    August 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    An apology to everyone who went on the hike today - I managed to get bad driving directions and arrived very late - I had a wonderful walk, but wasn't able to find the group and hope you didn't waste too much time waiting for me. Thanks anyway and I hope to see you next time.

    August 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    So sorry, I just got this and will not make it in time!

    August 24, 2013

  • Kristin

    Not 100% sure I can make it. Giving my spot to a wait lister

    August 23, 2013

  • Jane B

    So glad to see you scheduled a hike. It's clear with the attendance that the hikes were missed. I will be away until after the holiday. I can't wait to go again. Thanks for doing this.

    August 21, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Jane - I'll be doing this hike again (along with Mount A and perhaps Maudslay), so we will look forward to seeing you in September or October.

      August 22, 2013

  • Linda

    I'm first on the wait list. I'd love to do this hike. Please be sure to cancel if you can't make it.

    August 21, 2013

    • Randy

      Hi Linda - There was a cancellation, so you're all set.

      August 22, 2013

  • Michelle

    Just found out I have a work committment. :-(

    August 22, 2013

  • Lisa

    Have been looking forward to something like this for a beginner.

    August 21, 2013

  • Robin B

    I work there but am not available to join Saturday. Hopefully there will be a repeat event I can join in. Also there's a $4/person fee to enter the sanctuary. To help pay for retaining this and other lovely open spaces.

    August 21, 2013

12 went

Your organizer's refund policy for Hike and Picnic - Ipswich River Wildlife Sanctuary

Refunds are not offered for this Meetup.

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy