Re: [Not-from-Madison] Meetup Group - New to Madison

From: Heather
Sent on: Tuesday, October 11, 2011 9:44 AM
Hi Kate!  Welcome to Madison, my family & I just moved here in August from IL. I'm originally from Oshkosh.
A trail ride sounds great & my 7 year old daughter would love it as well!
Heather :)
 
In a message dated 10/11/2011 9:29:53 A.M. Central Daylight Time, [address removed] writes:
Hello! My name is Kate and I moved to Madison in June. Originally I am from a small town up North- Barron, WI (it's about an hour North of Eau Claire). Growing up I would spend my summers riding my horse, Jack, and showing him at open shows and the county fair. In 2007, I moved to Platteville to go to UW-Platteville for my two passions in life: Photography and Agriculture.
 
Now that I am out of college I am working on starting up my own photography business- Kate & Company. This past summer I worked for Studio Noveau doing wedding photography and absolutely loved it! haha- little sales pitch: I have a fall special of $75 one hour portrait sessions this year! (High school seniors, kids, or family)
 
My boyfriend and I live together over on the West Side - he is a personal trainer at the Princeton Club and I spend my weekdays working at Northwestern Mutual and my nights/weekends doing photography. We love to have opportunities to get out and explore Madison. Neither one of us have ever lived in a city before (we are both farm kids) so its been a BIG change for us. But we both found jobs out of college- which seems unusual these days.
 
I would LOVE to see a trail ride with horses organized- with a group rate it isn't that expensive, you would have plenty of time to meet and chat with new people, AND get to enjoy the outdoors while doing it. Plus it would be an event good for all ages- so people could bring their kids (ages 6+) along with.
 
Looking forward to meeting everyone! Let me know if you are interested in the trail ride and I can help plan it!
 
Kate
 
 
On Thu, Oct 6, 2011 at 8:58 PM, Christie <[address removed]> wrote:

 

Hello everyone.  My name is Christie and I am new to the group and brand new to Madison.  I have joined several meetup groups in the hope of making new and lasting friendships with others my own age.  Upon joining this group, I noticed that there have not been very many meetups.  So, I am here to see if anyone else would like to see that change.  I am more than willing to organize events, choose venues, and would love the opportunity to explore Madison since it is my new home.  If anyone else out there is also interested in bringing this group to life, I would love to hear from you. 

I left a lot of very close friends behind in Arizona when I left and I want to be able to build the same kind of long-term friendships here in Madison.  My first goal with this group is to find out more about its members.  Who are you?  How old are you?  What is your family situation?  If I find that we all really do have a lot in common, it might make it a lot easier to boost the activity level of this group. 

So, let me tell you a little more about me.  I am 36 years old, I am married to a wonderful man (going on 7 years now) and have two 18 year old daughters (one biological, one not).  I also have 2 very cute little dogs (Maggie & Molly).  I grew up in Illinois in a very small town outside of Peoria.  I moved away from my hometown in 1999 when I joined the Air Force.  I spent a few months in Texas (basis training --- YUK).  Then I moved to Washington State and lived there for a little more than 5 years.  From there I went to Las Vegas to marry my husband and then moved to Tucson where I lived for 6 ½ years.  Wow!!!!  I have lived in quite a few places.  My husband?s job is what has brought us to Madison, so I have used this as an opportunity to go back to college and FINALLY finish up those degrees.  Anyway, the things that I enjoy doing most with friends is dinner parties (at home or out), game nights at home, going out to movies, I really enjoy overnight trips as well (mostly camping), and most of all visiting different venues around town and in neighboring cities.  I am sure that covers just about anything that might interest someone except a sports enthusiast.  With all of this said, I spend the majority of my days at home by myself and I am finding it very difficult to meet people.  I am accustomed to working and receiving my daily dose of socialization at work.  Now that I am essentially a stay-at-home-wife, I have found it quite difficult to meet people my age.

I would love to hear more about you and any ideas you may have for this group.  So, please email me your story and any suggestions you have for meetups. 

I look forward to hearing from ? and meeting ? all of you soon.





--
Please Note: If you hit "REPLY", your message will be sent to everyone on this mailing list ([address removed])
This message was sent by Christie ([address removed]) from New to Madison.
To learn more about Christie, visit his/her member profile


Meetup, PO Box 4668 #37895 New York, New York[masked] | [address removed]





--
Please Note: If you hit "REPLY", your message will be sent to everyone on this mailing list ([address removed])
This message was sent by Kate Olsen ([address removed]) from New to Madison.
To learn more about Kate Olsen, visit his/her member profile
To unsubscribe or to update your mailing list settings, click here

Meetup, PO Box 4668 #37895 New York, New York[masked] | [address removed]

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy