North Texas Objectivist Society (NTOS) Message Board › Question about atheism/agnosticism

Question about atheism/agnosticism

A former member
Post #: 1
Ok, I was out with some of the folks on the board last night, and the question was asked me, 'how long have you been an atheist?' My response was 'I'm really more of an agnostic,' basically because at this point I am unable to deny the existence of a creator.

Background: I'm new to Objectivism, and come from a fundamentalist religious upbringing.

So, two questions: The only place I really get hung up is the origin of the universe, I do not believe in a personal deity, and think that there 'may' be a creator of some sort, based on the inability of Physics to exhibit a good understanding of the singularity at the origin of the universe, as well as the first 10^-43 seconds. I suppose I might be considered a 'deist,' but that has judeo-christian overtones that I am not really comfortable with.

First question: what would you call me?

I have spent a good deal of time today looking at papers and articles on the Hartle-Hawking theory of Quantum Cosmology, and if true, QC says that there is a large non-zero probability that a universe like ours would appear ex nihilo with no cause, which then removes any necessity for a creator. I have read several papers which make reference to confirmation of QC by observational evidence, which would then make my hang up go away, but I have been unable to locate any of said evidences, probably due to looking in the wrong places. That being said, I would like confirmation, I don't intend to just believe in QC because someone says there is evidence supporting it, I would like the evidence.

Second question: Any ideas of papers showing said evidences?

Any other comments would be welcome.
A former member
Post #: 205
Do you require a label? :)

Welcome to our group.