Olympia Geeks and Gamers Message Board › Suggested Meetup: Chronicles of Amber/Lords of Gossamer and Shadow DRPG game

Suggested Meetup: Chronicles of Amber/Lords of Gossamer and Shadow DRPG game (GM needed)

user 9785159
Lacey, WA
Post #: 136
Migrated from the "Suggested Meetups" section.

"I'd really like the chance to play a game of Amber since I've never done it before (though I have GMed). I've available on Saturdays and, soon, Sundays; however, I might be available on other days if the sessions are short (2, maybe 3 hours tops). Other people are welcome to express interest as potential players as well. Just keep in mind that I won't be GMing this game.

About the system: Amber is based of The Chronicles of Amber by Roger Zelazny. It's a diceless system with a heavy focus on RPing. Even combat is 90% RPing, with the GM just moderating and using the characters' stats as a reference. Most characters are part of a royal family of overpowered gods. However, since only another member of their own family can truly oppose them, this creates conflict, mystery, plotting, and political strife. These god-like characters exist in the medieval fantasy kingdom of Amber, which exists on Real Earth. Amber then casts "shadows" of other worlds. These shadows (or alternate dimensions) can be walked to by the royals of Amber. Our Earth is referred to as "Shadow Earth" in game. Everything exists in the Amber multiverse, so a character could catch a legendary pokemon to use in battle or seek advice from Yoda. Just note that magic and technology don't always travel between other worlds well.
Reading the first five volumes of The Chronicles of Amber is usually suggested for an Amber game, but not necessarily required.