add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

Dan S.


Pittsburgh, PA

Member since:

August 19, 2013

Note: these answers are listed in your profile - it's OK to answer "opsec" , "NA" or something if you don't wish to make that information public, OK?


Are you in the Pittsburgh area?

Yes. About 20 miles away, near Raccoon State Park in Beaver County

Do you have any special skills or resources that could help (like farming, food canning, mechanical repair, etc)

30 years of big game hunting experience. I've been on multiple self and semi-guided gun and archery hunts to CO, UT and Canada. I have most of the supplies to camp out in just about any climate for a considerable amount of time. I'm no Daniel Boone, but I can handle myself outdoors. I trapped for several years as a kid and still have most of those skills and supplies. I have a lot of canning supplies that I hope to start putting to good use in the near future. I have a respectable supply of guns (pistols, rifles, shotguns, assault) and ammo but not enough to start my own militia. I can operate just about any piece of heavy equipment. I have a small hunting camp (shack) in Clarion, PA that could serve as my initial short term bug out area but I think it is too close to serve as a long term solution or for a large scale evacuation situation. I have the financial means to kick in a sizable deposit on a track of secluded land with one or two more families.

How prepared are you for general service disruption? 3 days, 3 weeks, 3 months, 1 year?

I feel I am adequately supplied and self sufficient enough to comfortably last a month or two in my house with my family totally off the grid. After that it would quickly become a struggle.


I'm just a upper middle class father with a wife and two children, who is not optimistic about the security of their future. 13 years as an Army MP and trained for 10 years in Muay Thai kick boxing so I know a little about weapons and self-defense.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy