addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Rusty

Location:

Pittsburgh, PA

Member since:

February 25, 2014

Note: these answers are listed in your profile - it's OK to answer "opsec" , "NA" or something if you don't wish to make that information public, OK?

OK

Are you in the Pittsburgh area?

Yes, Greensburg area more specifically

Do you have any special skills or resources that could help (like farming, food canning, mechanical repair, etc)

I have a background in electrical. I grew up on a farm in Washington County that was primarily a dairy farm. We also raised turkey and chickens. We were self sustained by our large garden and hunted the land for meat. I also am fairly handy mechanically, as I can do basically any repairs to any car. I've worked on all makes, though most of my experience is on german models. I also have some experience in diesel mechanics from over 2 years spent with a crane and towing company. From that I've also learned some on general knowledge on leveraging large objects to move them.

How prepared are you for general service disruption? 3 days, 3 weeks, 3 months, 1 year?

Currently I am ok to last comfortably for about a week without leaving the house. But my location is not ideal to hunker down when the $*!t really hits the fan. So my goal is to have a solid plan in place to leave and get to our bug out spot before things get too ugly.

Introduction

I am newer to prepping. Joined to learn more about what I should be stocking up on and just overall knowledge. I'm 30 years old and married with currently no children.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy