Portland Bike Commuting Discussion Summary

From: John B.
Sent on: Saturday, February 6, 2010 12:56 PM
Here are some things we've been talking about on the Meetup recently. (Some new topics, some just new replies to existing topics.)


GENERAL DISCUSSION

You won't get hit! (Last Update Fri Feb 05)
Video from Orlando showing riding on a high speed lane

Transportation: Mobility or Access? (Fri Feb 05)
What's more important: Miles travelled, or destinations accessed?

So, what about Veterans' Bridge? (Thu Feb 04)
Discussion and updates on this bridge rebuild

Winter 2010 Commuting Journal (Thu Feb 04)
How was your ride today?

Who do you think you're honking at? (Mon Feb 01)
Keri Caffrey in Orlando rides with a police bicyclist, they get honked at!

Meetup Members are Most Influential! (Sun Jan 31)
Katie Diamond and Percy Wheeler are among the Portland Phoenix's "Most Influential People"!

Bicycles don't pay for the roads like cars do... (Thu Jan 28)
Subsidyscope.com sets the record straight on this recurring complaint.

Our Spin-A-Thon needs your help! (Thu Jan 28)
Lauren announces this Feb 13-14 fundraiser for the Animal Refuge League

Intersection Navigation question. . . (Fri Jan 15)
Tracie asks about a bizarre intersection in Amherst, MA

Facebook group advocates violence against cyclists (Mon Jan 11)
An FB group threatening cyclists using the road, and notes about the response to it

Regarding the Poll: What types of products would you like to see more of at our local retailers? (Sun Jan 10)
John Baldwin asks about commuting items we'd like to see more of in local shops

Bike Commuting Haiku (Wed Jan 06)
Someone wrote haiku. Someone else replied to it. Will you add one too?

Studded Tire Dilemma (Tue Jan 05)
John Brooking mulls over his options

A question for the more experienced riders. (Wed Dec 23)
Don asks about when to signal or not

City Bus incident (Tue Dec 22)
Gary relates an unpleasant encounter with a Metro bus


BICYCLE DRIVING

Bike Lane article in Maine Cyclist (Fri Feb 05)
MDOT Bike/Ped Manager writes glowing recommendation of bike lanes

Bikes on Interstates (Fri Feb 05)
General discussion of this topic

My letter to Kathi Earley, Portland Manager of Engineering Services. (Wed Feb 03)
Ian shares a letter he wrote

Portland Maine area "bicycle infrastructure" debate. (Sun Jan 31)
Discussion of recent local infrastructure

Bike boxes in Portland, OR (Wed Jan 27)
Study inconclusive on helpfulness or not

Another down side to bike lanes (Sat Jan 23)
On the lighter side: porn shop in Copenhagen closes, blames bike lanes for taking away costumers' parking

Tukey's Legalization Discussion (Thu Jan 21)
Discussion and updates of this initiative

Elitism (Thu Jan 14)
What's more elite: Expecting cyclists to behave like drivers, or believing that only a select few can?

Feedback on new paint on Forest and Park Avenues (Thu Jan 14)
More discussion of recent local infrastructure, more specific

I created a Facebook Group (Sun Dec 27)
Ian announces a "Portland Bicycle Drivers" Facebook group

Manhattan Cycling Track (Sat Dec 26)
Video from John Allen and John Schubert on riding a side path on Grand Street

PPH Article on Tukey's (Sat Dec 26)
Link to PPH article about the Tukey's legalization initiative

Tukey's Bridge Warning!!! (Wed Dec 23)
Will police harass cyclists on the bridge, now that they know about them?

Orlando Kids Take Back the Streets ? By Bike (Thu Dec 10)
High school bike club in Orlando, forms "bike bus" to school every morning


BONUS FOR DILIGENT READERS:



RIDE SAFE AND HAVE FUN!!

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy