The Portland Hiking Meetup Group Message Board Gear Talk › What Tent do you carry?

What Tent do you carry?

A former member
Post #: 8
I'm in the market for a new lightweight 2 person backpacking tent.
What do you use/Recommend?

So far im looking at the:

-Big Agnes Fly Creek UL2 Tent
-Tarptent Double Rainbow
-MSR fast Stash looks intriguing
Rune
user 2364738
Portland, OR
Post #: 9
I have an MSR Hubba Hubba HP in excellent shape -- with matching footprint -- that I will be willing to sell soon. It is a fantastic, versatile tent. The only reason I am willing to part with it is that I am having a custom, UL tent made to my specs and I could use some cash to fund that project. Make me an offer if you are interested.

A former member
Post #: 11
Was tempting but its a bit heavier than i'm looking for.
Im going to try and stay under 4 pounds if I can.
Thanks.
Will
user 13590079
Portland, OR
Post #: 1
Not sure if this helps but I've been using a Big Agnes Seedhouse SL2 for about 8 years and it's still doing great - nice and light, easy to set up and tear down (putting on the rain fly on is a bit of a pain but not a deal breaker). Pretty good ventilation and it's held up well with lots of use. Never really had a problem with water getting in but you need to make sure the rain fly never touches the mesh/screen or you'll get condensation dripping in. This can happen if you roll over in your sleep so that your body is pushing the screen against the rain fly. If you keep the rain fly pulled nice and tight, it's not a problem. Also, keep Velcro away from the screen - it will stick to the screen and can rip it. There's some on my sleeping bag that I have to be careful of. Anyway, I'm happy with it. Good luck!
A former member
Post #: 12
Yeah it does.. been really leaning towards the flycreek because its lighter than my solo tent.. For less weight why not have the extra gear room?.. But does cost more.
I have a couple solo tents but I want the option to have space for two.