addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Steven C R.

Location:

Sterling, VA
Hometown: Leesburg, Va

Member since:

October 30, 2012

Networks

Describe your perfect ride.

Out in the country on a beautiful sunny day with my family and lots of friends. 30 - 50 mile ride with a nice pace. Social gathering afterwards to meet new friends and have a good time.

What type of bike do you ride?

Road and light trail cycling on my 1987 Schwinn Voyageur and 2013 Trek 8.6 Dual Sport. I’ve been riding the W&OD Trail after work when I can and on the weekends with my daughter (Heather) and son-in-law (Ezra). I’m trying to increase my mileage each time I go out with the goal of working my way up to a century ride sometime next year. I just recently picked up a 2013 Trek 8.6 Dual Sport from Spokes Etc. in Ashburn so I can start doing some light trail rides around the Washington D.C. area. I’m looking forward to meeting some new friends and new places to ride. In the photo from left to right is me, Heather (daughter) and Kathy (wife). I also have a son (Ryan) and another daughter (Megan). I’m trying to get Kathy, Ryan, and Megan to join Heather, Ezra, and I on some weekend bike rides. I guess I'll have to start out small to get them interested. Maybe a new bike would work. Nay, my wife said she would much rather have a new Mac computer with the 27" screen. I can go for that.

Are you willing to wear a helmet and bring a spare tube, a pump and water each time you ride?

Sure do.

What pace do you prefer?

8 to 16 mph with rides from 20 to 50 miles. Hopefully, by next spring/summer (2013), I'll be in better shape and can increase my pace and ride length.

Introduction

Hi, I'm Steve and I live in Sterling Va. I decided to get back into biking for exercise and to spend some quality time with my family. I currently ride a 1987 Schwinn Voyageur that I've kept in great shape and a 2013 Trek 8.6 Dual Sport.

What Steven C R. is saying about this Meetup Group

Have not had a bad ride yet. People are very friendly and the ride leaders do a great job.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy