Marjorie W. G.
user 31649272
Roanoke, VA
Post #: 9
I wanted to let you guys know, without making a big deal about it, that my son Ben has autism. I wish to share this because while he has many aptitudes, making/sustaining conversation is really difficult for him, and it helps for people to know that. It was funny when Dan said he was interested to learn what goes on in the kids' heads I thought "Geez, me too!" When I occasionally do get a glimpse of Ben's ideas, I'm very encouraged. Thanks for listening!
Micah B.
user 73091072
Radford, VA
Post #: 9
Hey that's cool! I'm very mildly autistic myself (used to be called aspergers, but apparently it's just considered really mild autism now). It took me forever to be able to communicate to people normally, but I focused on learning to talk to technology instead, and that's a big part of why I'm an engineer now. I'm a very passive learner, so watching machines and electronics work is very fascinating.

Thanks for bringing Ben to the club meetings! I think it will help him a lot, and I hope to be able to contribute my experience as well!
Kevin H.
kevinhines
Group Organizer
Orlando, FL
Post #: 67
Thanks for your posts, Marjie & Micah.

Many of us in the STEM fields (science, technology, engineering & math) seem to have a mild form of autism, i.e., asperger's ...

Having mild autism or asperger's is an opportunity to take what some people see as a disadvantage, and turn it into an advantage, by finding ways to direct one's passions into productive areas ... and to make the world a better place for all people ... :-)

Marjie, I'm glad you and Ben found the robotics club, and I look forward to your continuing participation!

:-)

PS - Here's a video which inspires me, by Temple Grandin, on this topic: http://www.ted.com/ta...­

Thanks!
Marjorie W. G.
user 31649272
Roanoke, VA
Post #: 10
Thanks, guys. We feel very welcome!
A former member
Post #: 1