addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Protest Common Core day 2

The Future of Common Core in Florida up for Debate Tuesday at Pinellas EpiCenter

The pivotal meeting as to the future of Common Core National education system in Florida happens in Pinellas County at the Epi Center and continues Tuesday and Wednesday; with key players from all over the state at the table.

They thought implementing Common Core was going to be a Piece of Cake!

It is ONLY because of the uprising of the Tea party and Conservative groups against Common Core Education system across the state this past several months that this meeting has become necessary.

In Response, Governor Scott had to Organize this Meeting!

We must be there, and bring your signs against Common Core. 

We will gather on the sidewalk in front of Epicenter at 8:30am.  Then move inside 

by 8:45 to get a seat if you want to observe.  Meeting continues until 5pm.  Come and go as you please.

Below is a list of attendees, and just a couple are against Common Core which are Randy Osborne, leader of Floridians Against Common Core, and Joe Gruters, Chair of the Sarasota Republican Executive Committee, whose members just voted against Common Core.  Obviously, the opposition is far out numbered by the supporters who are in the bag.

Attendees include:

Invited by Governor Scott and Commissioner Stewart
with the assistance of education partners:

Gary Chartrand   State Board of Education
Marshall Criser   Business Community Leader
Mark Wilson  Business Community Leader
Superintendent Alberto Carvalho   Miami-Dade County
Superintendent Joe Joyner   St. Johns County
Superintendent Bill Husfelt   Bay County
Patricia Levesque   Foundation for Florida’s Future
Andy Ford   Florida Education Association
Jeff Wright   Florida Education Association
Joanne McCall   Florida Education Association
Patty Hightower   School Board Chair, Escambia County
Wayne Blanton   Florida School Boards Association
Eileen Segal   Florida PTA
Linda Kearschner  Parent

Juhan Mixon   Florida Association of School Administrators
Laura Zorc   Parent, Florida Parents Against Common Core
Anthony Lockhart  School Principal, Atlantic Community High, Palm Beach County
John Kirtley Florida Charter School Alliance
Doug Tuthill   Step Up For Students
Keith Calloway   Professional Educators Network, Broward County
Steve Chambers   Professional Educators Network, Okaloosa County
Dorina Sackman   2014 Teacher of the Year, Orange County
Alex Lopes   2013 Teacher of the Year, Miami-Dade County
Apryl Shackelford   Teacher of the Year, Duval County
Jennifer Grove   Business Community Leader, Workforce Florida Inc. Vice Chair
Randy Osborne   Community Leader
Joe Gruters   CPA, Sarasota County
Mark Wilson   Florida Chamber of Commerce
Maureen Wilt   Florida Power & Light
Invited by President Gaetz:
Senator John Thrasher
Senator John Legg
Senator Bill Galvano
Senator Bill Montford

Invited by
Speaker Weatherford:
Representative Marlene O’Toole
Erik Fresen
Representative Janet Adkins
Representative Reggie Fullwood




Join or login to comment.

2 went

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy